The browser you are using is not supported by this website. All versions of Internet Explorer are no longer supported, either by us or Microsoft (read more here:

Please use a modern browser to fully experience our website, such as the newest versions of Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari etc.


Our research

One department - seven branches of research

Physics, the doctrine of nature on a fundamental level, contains several branches. From particle physics, which is the science of the smallest constituents of matter, to astrophysics, the doctrine of the universe. Physics is not just about exploring nature, but also about developing better instrumentation to enable new science, solve societal challenges or improve everyday life.

The Department of Physics is one of Lund University's largest departments with around 400 employees. The department has seven research divisions and a number of major center formations. The research at the department covers a wide range of modern physics. In addition to our own research activities, our researchers participate in several collaborations and environments, both at Lund University and internationally.
Get to know more about our research divisions: