The browser you are using is not supported by this website. All versions of Internet Explorer are no longer supported, either by us or Microsoft (read more here:

Please use a modern browser to fully experience our website, such as the newest versions of Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari etc.

How to choose courses

Perhaps you are wondering what courses to choose? The department offers some 100 different courses in Physics. This page is intended to give you some guidance for your exchange studies at Lund University.

Two semesters

In Sweden, the study year is divided into two semesters, and each semester is divided into two periods. For one semester of full time studies, you will collect 30 ECTS credits. The courses are most often worth either 15 ECTS credits, meaning it stretches over an entire semester on half study pace, or 7.5 ECTS credits, meaning it only stretches over half a semester. You always take at least two courses simultaneously.

To choose the right courses you first need to know in which order the courses are taken for students admitted to the Bachelor's programme.

Basic courses

The first four semesters of the Bachelor's programme is usually organised in semester-long, full-time courses:

Physics 1

The first courses of physics named FYSA12 (15 ECTS), FYSA13 (7.5 ECTS) and FYSA14 (7.5 ECTS), give an introduction to university physics. The courses give an introductory overview of mechanics, thermodynamics, electrodynamics, optics, wave mechanics and atomic and nuclear physics. The book used is Young and Freedman: University Physics. The course is given in English each spring semester and as an exchange student you can choose to study only FYSA12, if you want to.

Physics 2

This consists of three courses - FYSB21, Mathematical methods, 7.5 ECTS, FYSB22 Basic Quantum Mechanics, 7.5 ECTS and FYSB23, Basic Statistical Physics and Quantum Statistics, 7.5 ECTS. These courses introduce tools for physicists to prepare for further studies.

Physics 3

This is a package of modern physics courses in important fields of physics. It consists of six courses of 7.5 ECTS each: FYSB24: Atomic and molecular physics, FYSC22: Nuclear physics, FYSC23: Solid state physics, FYSC24: Particle physics, cosmology and accelerators, FYTB13 Electromagnetism and FYTB14 General Mechanics and Special Relativity.

You should consider parts of Physics 1 - 3 when selecting your courses. FYSA12, -13 and -14 are given in English in the spring semester. The rest of the courses are always given in English.