The browser you are using is not supported by this website. All versions of Internet Explorer are no longer supported, either by us or Microsoft (read more here:

Please use a modern browser to fully experience our website, such as the newest versions of Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari etc.

Anne L’Huillier wins the Max Born Award

Anne l’Huillier Photo: Magnus Bergström
Anne l’Huillier is the winner of the 2021 Max Born Award from the Optical Society (OSA). Photo: Magnus Bergström

The Optical Society, OSA, awards NanoLundian Atomic Physics professor Anne l’Huillier the Max Born Award for pioneering work in ultrafast laser science and attosecond physics.

Anne L’Huillier, professor of Atomic Physics and affiliated member of NanoLund, has been awarded the Optical Society Max Born Award 2021 for pioneering work in ultrafast laser science and attosecond physics, realizing and understanding high harmonic generation and applying it to time-resolved imaging of electron motion in atoms and molecules.”

The award is presented to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to physical optics, theoretical or experimental. It was established in 1982 to honor Max Born, who made distinguished contributions to physics in general and optics in particular. It is endowed by the United Technologies Research Center, Physical Optics Corporation.

The Optical Society was founded in 1916 with the mission to promote the generation, application, and archiving of knowledge in optics and photonics and to disseminate this knowledge worldwide. The purposes of the society are scientific, technical, and educational. OSA recognizes distinguished achievement in the field of optics and photonics and supports the community through grants, educational initiatives, and technical programs. Their Awards & Medals and Fellow and Honorary Member distinctions acknowledge and celebrate the field’s technical, research, education, business, leadership, and service accomplishments. 

Learn more about the award on the Optical Society website

Learn more about Anne L’Huillier on the Optical Society website